Geography of Bali

BALI IS SMALL ISLAND one of the 13.677 islands that make up the nation of Indonesia. Bali is only 5682 km2 lies between the islands of Java and Lombok, stretching 140 km from east to west and 80 km from north to south.

The tallest of the string of volcanic mountains that run from the east to the west, is Mount Agung, which last erupted in 1963. Lying just 80 south of the equator, Bali boast a tropical climate with just two seasons (wet and dry) a year and an average annual temperature of around 280C.

Physical limits are as follows.

  •      North : North Bali
  •      East : Lombok Strait 
  •      Southern : Ocean Indonesia
  •      West : Bali Strait

Administratively, the Province of Bali is divided into eight districts and one city, namely Jembrana, Tabanan, Badung, Gianyar, Karangasem, Klungkung, Bangli, Buleleng, and the city of Denpasar which is also the provincial capital.

In addition to the island of Bali Provinceis also comprised of other small islands, the island of Nusa Penida, Nusa Lembongan, and Nusa Ceninganin Klungkung regency,and Menjangan Island in Buleleng. The total area of Bali Province is 5634.40 hato reach 529 km long beach.